Divorce in Texas

To be eligible to file for divorce in Texas, at least one of the spouses must have been a continuous resident of the state for at least six months. To be eligible to file for divorce in any county in Texas, at least one spouse must have been a resident of that county for at…

Child Custody in Texas

According to the Texas Statutes, Family Code, Chapter 153, the court presumes for joint managing conservators; however, the best interest of the child transcends all other considerations. The Texas court has several options when issuing a custody order. Sole custody can be awarded to one parent, which means that the child resides primarily with that…

Theft in Texas

Theft is a Class A misdemeanor if the goods stolen is worth $750 or more, but less than $2,500. Theft is a state jail felony if the property stolen is worth $2,500 or more, but less than $30,000. Theft is a felony of the third degree if the property stolen is worth $30,000 or more…

× How can I help you?