To be eligible to file for divorce in Texas, at least one of the spouses must have been a continuous resident of the state for at least six months. To be eligible to file for divorce in any county in Texas, at least one spouse must have been a resident of that county for at least 90 days.
Divorce in Texas is a Lengthy Process
In Texas, a divorce is not final for at least 60 days after a petition is filed. It typically takes about six months to one year or longer to finalize a divorce, depending on the complexity of the issues and the degree of conflict.
No Legal Separation
Texas does not recognize legal separation. This means that even when you are living apart from your spouse, all of the property you or your spouse acquire during the marriage is community property—regardless of the way it is titled—and all debt you or your spouse incurred during the marriage is community debt. You are married until you are legally divorced.
“No-Fault” Divorce in Texas
Texas law allows for “no-fault” divorce, the spouse filing for divorce does not have to prove any fault, wrongdoing, or marital misconduct on the part of the other spouse.
Divorce in Texas – Leave it for an Attorney
Getting divorced is a complicated process. While you can technically represent yourself in a divorce suit, it can be a difficult process and end up costing you time, money, and stress. You need an experienced and aggressive lawyer to represent you.
CHECK OUT OUR NEXT BLOG ON COMMON LAW MARRIAGE COMING SOON!